Kataklysm – Waiting For The End To Come

Kataklysm waiting for the end

Kataklysm have been around the block, in fact since forming in 1992, Kataklysm now mark a whole twenty-one years in the business under the above moniker. It’s fair to say that with ten full-lengths and an EP under the band’s belt that Kataklysm know what they are doing, and how to do it in a modern world of already saturated metal. Fortunately for a band with a history of over twenty years there’s something about the band that stands above the monotony of new age, reverse thinking death metal. ‘Waiting For The End To Come’ marks a continuation for a powerhouse of a death metal band that has trudged along the same paths but with each new offering, Kataklysm mature, grow and expand, polarizing just what it takes to remain relevant in an ever growing death metal scene.

But the pass doesn’t simply stop there, Kataklysm have proven over the years that they are a dependable and solid sound source in the metal community. “If I Was God – I’d Burn It All” is an obvious example of power and dominance, reinforcing the band’s sound. An onslaught of blast-beats, growls and up-tempo sonic death metal devastation. A short audio sample of spoken word sets a perfect out of worldly tone of a being that sees things in a different light only to be backed by a steady, yet high quality death metal sound. The context shown by the intelligent lyricism found on the tracks highlights a clear message of devastation, power and finite consequences for the world’s actions. In fact, the album’s eleven tracks, which covers a run-time of forty-five minutes doesn’t feel repetitious or samey, short-ish track times coupled with contextual ingenuity provide a strong back drop for a band well in their prime. If Kataklysm had any plans for slowing up, it’s clearly not here. The band shows that this is far from a regressive album and as far as the band is able to show, they are still moving forward, maturing and progressing for the better.

By now, you can guess that ‘Waiting For The End To Come’ is heavy, but the album is squeaky clean. Okay, let me clarify. ‘Waiting For The End To Come’ is brought together by a completely professional studio effort. Each aspect, every instrument flows freely in the mix, at a first listen the album may sound ‘trigger’ heavy, but it becomes all the more even as each rhythmic aspect ties together to culminate in a being of its very own creation. This crystal clear production brings life to this veteran death metal act and ultimately, who could expect anything less.

2013 has been a great year for metal. Ulcerate, Portal, Immolation, Carcass, and Gorguts are easy death metal mentions but the list begins to grow and grow, but it’s important to note that Kataklysm’s ‘Waiting For The End To Come’ is another worthy addition to this prestigious list. This is well worth checking out!



1. Fire

2. If I Was God – I’d Burn It All

3. Like Animals

4. Kill The Elite

5. Under Lawless Skies

6. Dead and Buried

7. The Darkest Days of Slumber

8. Real Blood – Real Scars

9. The Promise

10. Empire Of Dirt

11. Elevate

About Robert (283 Articles)
Site Owner and Admin, From Australia - your local metal loving maniac. Swinging the Dead since 1992. Want to get in touch?

Have something to say?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: