Tamerlan- Ain


Debemur Morti Productions is celebrating 2014’s halfway point with an exciting new addition to the label.   Russian acoustic folk outfit Tamerlan are a welcome breath of fresh air for the jaded music snob.  Tamerlan’s latest release, “Ain”, is a refreshing mix of ambient neo-classical, dark folk and acoustic post black metal.

When I first heard the term acoustic black metal, I was immediately intrigued.  However, the myriad of bands dabbling in the acoustic black underground (Ouroborus, Satanic Warmaster, Dammerfarben etc.), failed to produce the ambiance I was craving.  Dammerfarben came close by incorporating folk inspired classical elements and  gloomy keyboards into a classic symphonic sound, but Tamerlan perfected the sound on by adding  neo-folk elements to their unique sound and layering it with a brooding sense of dark mysticism.  The feel is that of classic Bauhaus amalgamated with Allagoch’s earlier sounds, and hints of an ambiance similar to Ukraine’s Kauan.  Ultimately, Timur Iskandarov, the mastermind behind this unique sound, paints a gloomy picture that catapults listeners into an enchanted, dark netherworld.

This highly original, one man project oozes of intelligence and sensitivity, yet doesn’t lay it too thick, as the album maintains elements of magic and fantasy in its sound by incorporating ethereal female vocals and the intoxicating sounds of the lute into this dreary masterpiece respectfully entitled Ain.  The LP immediately hooks listeners with dreamy acoustic sounds and goth-like vocals in the first track “Eternal”.  A pivotal point is reached midway through the album, in the track entitled “Thy Kingdom Come” when the female vocals become markedly magical and the emotionalism intense as ever.  At only seven minutes long, “Thy Kingdom Come” is the longest song on the album.  Modesty is the word to describe Ain, with average song lengths under five minutes and muted undertones permeating the overall feel of this LP.

Ain takes on a darker, almost depressive aura in track six, Children of the Lesser God (The Qliphotic Hunger), with impassioned wails astern masterfully plucked folk guitars.  The album ends on a classical note with the cheerful sounds of “Ignite the Dawn”.

Overall, Ain is a wonderful addition to your CD collection, with a sound fit for everyone from goths to “black metallers”.  I did not find much fault with this release other than some forgivable repetitiveness throughout.  For the most part, however, this album found me entrenched in its ethereal ambiance.  I lost myself in Ain’s intelligent lyrical themes, evocative female vocals, classical acoustics and lute sounds.  I would recommend anyone give this album a listen.  Ain’s official release date is June 24th but luckily, you can pre-order the album here and welcome the maelstrom of otherworldly resonance that is Ain into your speakers early.  You will not be disappointed.

Rating: 4/5


1. Eternal

2. The Countless Reflections of Non Matter

3. The Dance of the Twilight Stars

4. My Estranged Sanctuary

5. Thy Kingdom Come

6. Children of a Lesser God (The Qliphotic Hunger)

7. Thus Soul Awakens

8. The Inner Sunrise Ritual

9. Ignite the Dawn


1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Hot News: Tamerlan – “Ain” out now and streaming! | Kronos Mortus

Have something to say?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: