AMARANTHE premiere new song “Drop Dead Cynical”

AMARANTHE have debuted the song “Drop Dead Cynical” from their new album ‘MASSIVE ADDICTIVE’, out on October 17 on Spinefarm Records / Caroline Australia. The track is the first worldwide taste of the Gothenburg band’s upcoming opus. Have a listen to the song all its majestic glory by going here


“Drop Dead Cynical” is a perfect indicator of what fans can expect on ‘MASSIVE ADDICTIVE’— a full-on blast of melody and metallic power. ‘MASSIVE ADDICTIVE’ was recorded at Hansen Studios in Ribe, Denmark with the sound sorcerer Jacob Hansen (Volbeat, Epica) at the helm. 



Commented guitarist Olof Mörck: “The first piece of music to be released from ‘MASSIVE ADDICTIVE’, is a very representative track – ‘’Drop Dead Cynical’’ is as massive as it is addictive. This ultra groovy song is a markedly different first single compared to classical AMARANTHE single choices, and it takes our trademark sound in fresh and exciting new directions! Top that off with an anthemic chorus, and the result is what I consider one of the absolutely strongestAMARANTHE songs ever!”


The iTunes pre-order ‘MASSIVE ADDICTIVE’ iTunes launches today as well, with “Drop Dead Cynical” offered as an instant grat download!


‘MASSIVE ADDICTIVE’ tracklisting:


1. Dynamite

2. Drop Dead Cynical

3. Trinity

4. Massive Addictive

5. Digital World

6. True

7. Unreal

8. Over and Done

9. Danger Zone

10. Skyline

11. An Ordinary Abnormality

12. Exhale


The 12-song album is a flawlessly executed clinic of masterfully and carefully crafted European metal, boasting Olof Mörck’s surgically precise riffs and soaring solos alongside Morten Løwe Sørensen’s rhythmic thrust and Johan Andreassen’s booming low-frequency assault. Elise Ryd’s vocals are as emotive and empowering as ever, filling the room, while Jake E’s melodic vocal are an outpouring of power. New screamer Henrik Englund Wilhelmsson puts his stamp on the material, as well.


The sound is both massive and addictive, from the unforgettable, driving sounds of “Drop Dead Cynical” to the anthemic title track to the stadium-sized soar of “Digital World” to the emotionally haunting power semi-ballad “True.” ‘MASSIVE ADDICTIVE’ is an exercise in dynamics and is one that refuses to play by any sort of genre-specific, prescribed rules. 


Follow Spinefarm Records online:






About Robert (285 Articles)
Site Owner and Admin, From Australia - your local metal loving maniac. Swinging the Dead since 1992. Want to get in touch?

Have something to say?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: