Review: Ace Frehley-Space Invader

Ace Frehley Space Invader "Space Ace" Frehley is one of the biggest rock icons in existence. For 25 years he held a position many musicians would have killed for, the lead guitar player for Kiss. Kiss' prominence in the rock and metal worlds cannot be understated, and not only are they the biggest band ever due to massive marketing campaigns and catchy hit singles, they had a look that no one could forget. The face makeup alone will never be a forgotten element of '70s and '80s music. After leaving the band in 2000, Ace Frehley has been busy working on his own solo career. Under his own name he has released six albums, four before leaving Kiss and two after. Anomaly was the last record released in 2009, feeling like an album he was trained to create. Space Invader continues the legacy of a legend that was put on earth to write rock anthems.

Fans of Kiss and other solo work will not be surprised by the result given on Space Invader. There are crunchy and smooth riffs on the lead guitar lines, some popping percussion in the background, sleazy lyricism, and space-aged themes. If someone comes into Space Invader expecting anything different, they might be crazy. The only problem with a formula of this nature is always the fact that we are 30 years past the time when these themes were overtly interesting. As a music fan, it is tough to not at least have a lot of fun listening to the record, but the charm can wear off as the track listing moves forward. Luckily, Frehley is quick on his feet and can shift to instrumentals and other types of tracks to hit the listener with a curve ball here and there.

The diversity of Space Invader is limited but effective when it wants to be. “Gimme A Feelin'” is the raunchy rock anthem people have come to expect, and the sleazy instrumental and lyrics make it sound like a great modern Kiss track, while the solid solo and classic guitar tone seal the deal in the second half. “Change” is a great example of advice from the legend himself. The theme of changing your life to create more happiness is amiable, while the slower tone is a godsend at allowing the fluid writing  to be the main center point. “Starship” closes off the record with a seven minute instrumental that wades a listener through various movements that never disappoint, especially the acoustic guitar segment. There is even a cover for “The Joker”by the Steve Miller Band, which shows off Frehley’s skill at creating a fun atmosphere even if the two songs are a bit too similar.

Space Invader is a decent effort from a rock and roll legend. Moving on from such an iconic act could be a sign that nothing good can come forth in the future, but Frehley has a lot more music left in those magic hands. There are some goofy and cheesy moments all over the album,  but that is what his fans will always expect. If anyone has earned the right to have some fun and not worry about the lack of ingenuity, it is “Space Ace” Frehley.


Track Listing
1. Space Invader
2. Gimme A Feelin’
3. I Wanna Hold You
4. Change
5. Toys
6. Immortal Pleasures
7. Inside the Vortex
8. What Every Girl Wants
9. Past the Milky Way
10. Reckless
11. The Joker
12. Starship

Ace Frehley Links:

About krthll1 (82 Articles)
I am a huge media fan in general. Video games, music, and movies tend to be the ticket to my happiness. As far as music goes, I like to listen to music that can convey any sense of tangible emotional impact, whether it be dark, depressive, or happy. Favorite artists include Deafheaven, Nine Inch Nails, Metallica, Kendrick Lamar, and Alice In Chains. I would like to thank everyone on the site for this opportunity and hope my output is worthy of the publishing.

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Space Ace Fans Unite! | ace frehley army

Have something to say?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: