A Light Within – Body Matter EP

body matter

Released through Static Tension Recordings, ‘Body Matter’ is the new, soon-to-be-released EP from the  Kansas City 5 piece: A Light Within.

Personally my first time introduced to these guys, the new 6 track is almost shoegazey; paired with progressive and post metal feel, it went down quite neat, (along with my scotch..). The band come together with plenty of lo-fi screams and epic vocal melodies, nicely structured bass lines and creative guitar riffs, which manage to produce a unique heavy ambient sound that is of their own.

Although possessing a sound of their own, they resemble bands such as Tool and Deftones (which is obviously not a bad thing); the EP as a whole is worth checking out. “World Through The Window” was a strong standout for me, as was the new single “Between Shores”. Launched only in 2012, this should be a big year for the boys. In an interview with Dutch Metal Maniac, guitarist Jeff Irvine explains: “With the changing of bassists, the sound changed. Not drastically, but organically. We all went out of our comfort zones, and came up with something really great.”

Released July 7th through Static Tension Recordings, the label also had this to say about the release: “Step into the gloom, feel its warm embrace. Close your eyes and let the ambience wash over you, the music unfolding into a wave of shoegazing post-metal. Distant, pained clean vocals appear in the haze, drawing the words from pages in a diary and turning them into a catharsis. The guitars flip from fragile melodies to thundering riffs at a moment’s notice, and the bass accentuates the deeper recesses of this stellar – in every way – sound. You are experiencing A Light Within.”

An emotional rocket of ambient/prog post metal, it certainly has enough depth of lyric, variety, and contrast to take you to a post metal lucid dream state (if that’s the kind of thing you’re into). The band quotes underneath the lyrics of their clip: “He said: The only thing that burns in Hell is the part of you that won’t let go of life, your memories, your attachments. They burn them all away. But they’re not punishing you, ” he said. “They’re freeing your soul. So, if you’re frightened of dying and you’re holding on, you’ll see devils tearing your life away. But if you’ve made your peace, then the devils are really angels, freeing you from the earth.”

[Jacob’s Ladder. Dir. Adrian Lyne. Carolco Pictures, 1990.]


Track list:

1. Torn Page #21
2. Page #22 _No Charge
3. Page #51 _Between Shores
4. Page #29 _World Through the Window
5. Page #13 _To Have; To Hold
6. Page #47-48 _Glaso

Here’s the single release ‘Between Shores’ which has some great visuals:

Check out their Facebook page for upcoming tour details:

Have something to say?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: